Blackford, Somerset

Giffords Barn is situated in a stunning location in rural Somerset, close to the Dorset border

The 'black ford', midway between Wincanton and Sparkford crossed a stream which now feeds the lake of Compton Castle. King Edgar (959-75) gave the estate here to Glastonbury Abbey, but it had passed to Turstin FitzRolf before 1086. The manor was given up to the bishop under an agreement concluded in 1275 and was retained by Bath and Wells until its enforced sale to the Duke of Somerset in 1548.

The Manor was first given to Glastonbury by King Edwy of the Saxons, and, according to the Domesday Book, four hides were retained by Glastonbury and one went to the tenant of Thurstin Fitz Rolph, Lord of Cadbury. In 1284 it is recorded that Alma de Blackford held the ‘Ville of Blakeford’ from Roger de Moels, and in 1305 Lovel, Lord of Castle Cary, obtained a part of it. The whole manor was held by Nicholas de St Maur in 1362 and his son married into thc Erleigh family of Backington. Through lack of male heirs the property was again divided, but eventually came into the possession of two men who were cousins and who were jointly presented to the Rectory of Blackford in 1518; the manor remained in this situation until the end of the 17th century.

There are some fine historic buildings in Blackford and it now numbers some 30 houses.

Our Ordinance Survey Map Grid reference in the centre of the village is ST 657 261

Get Directions to Gifford's Barn via Google Maps

Blackford church

The Pretty Church of St Michael in Blackford. (This photo is credited to Dave Lowther, via Wikimedia Commons)

Giffords Barn from the Air

Giffords Barn, Blackford from the air. (Courtesy of Google imagery)

Enjoy England Four Star rating Enjoy England Four Gold rating Sawday's Special Places to Stay Premier Cottages